The History of Real Madrid FC

Team Real Madrid FC The Royal Madrid Football Club which is more commonly known Real Madrid is considered to be the most successful team to ever play Spanish football. With 31 La Liga titles, 9 UEFA Champions, 17 Copa del Rey Cups, 1 UEFA Supercup, 2 UEFA Cups, and 3 Intercontinental Cups the Club certainly impresses even those who are not interested in the game. The Club is so successful that FIFA honored them with the title “Best Club of the 20th Century.”

The Real Madrid Football Club’s humble beginnings happened in 1897 when a group of friends who had graduated from Oxbridge, began playing the game at school, Institicion Libre de Ensenanza. The club they founded at the time was called Football Club Sky and they played on Sunday mornings in Moncloa.

Eventually in the 1900s the Football Club Sky split off into two clubs one called New Foot Ball de Madrid and the other Club Espanol de Madrid. The clubs split again in 1902 and Real Madrid Football Club was born.

The Club’s long association with success and victory began just three short years after its formation with a win against Athletic Bilbao securing the Spanish Cup Final in 1905.

In 1929 Real Madrid suffered the first loss of the newly formed Spanish Football League when Athletic Bilboa won the first season. But later they were to come back with the first League title for the 1931-1932 season. The following year, just to make the point, Real Madrid again won the title, making them the first team to win two times in a row.

From 1945- 1978 the Club was headed by Santiago Bernabeu Yeste. Under the leadership of Bernabeu the Real Madrid Club had its most prominent series of victories ever, winning the European Cup a unprecedented 5 times in a row from 1956 through 1960.

The winning streak was continued as through the 1970s, the Real Madrid Club a total three Spanish Cups and five League Championships before Bernabeu passed away during the World Cup in 1978.

It seems the loss of such a great leader disheartened the team as the club suffered several defeats before several new players brought the team back to life.

Manuel Sanches, Migual Pardeza, Michel Pardeza and Martin Vazquez brought the Club to victory in the late 1980s with 2 UEFA Cup and five Spanish Championships wins.

The Real Madrid is a club loaded with personal and team records. The record for the most appearances belongs to Raul with 741 and is followed closely by Manuel Sanchis with 711. But Raul comes back in the record books with the title of Real Madrid’s all time best goalscorer with 323 goals from 1994 through 2010. Hugo Sanchez however runs close second with the most (38) goals scored in one season.

In 2006, attendance at the Copa del Rey game scored the highest attendance records with 83,329 people. The problem was that legally the stadium, Estadio Santiago Bernabeu is only allowed to hold 80,354 a difference of 2975.

In July of 2006 the Club was taken over by Ramon Calderon who is club president today. Real Madrid took ownership of the La Liga title under Calderon in 2007 for the first time in four years. They also won the Domestic League gaining their first consecutive win in 18 years of play.

For the fans of football the Real Madrid Football Club is considered the very best in the world. With a total of 63 big wins over the last 100+ years.